Former Kuppet Chair Omboko Milemba ranked the best MP

Former Kuppet Chair Omboko Milemba ranked the best MP

Members of National Assembly have been ranked on performance in their electoral areas, with Emuhaya MP Omboko Milemba emerging top with 75.4 per cent.

Milemba is a first term MP elected on an ANC ticket.

Omboko Milemba has been a teacher and a National Kuppet chairman till he got elected to Parliament in 2017 through the ANC ticket.

In 2018 he got deregistered by TSC for taking active role in politics.

In a survey conducted by polling firm Infotrak, at least 114 MPs in the National Assembly scored below 50 per cent.

Taveta MP Naomi Shabaan emerged number 32 with 61.6 per cent, becoming the best female MP.

The report ranked Isiolo South MP Abdi Koropu as the worst performer with 33 per cent.

Embattled Emurua Dikirr MP Johan Ng’eno is the country’s second best performing MP with a score of 71.4 per cent followed by Mwala MP Vincent Musyoka, who polled 70.8 per cent.

Kisumu Woman Representative Rosa Buyu is the best performing female MP in the Woman reps category with 61.5 per cent.

Her Kiambu counterpart Gathoni Wamuchomba is ranked as the worst performer in the women reps category with 39 per cent followed by Trans Nzoia’s Janet Nangabo at 39.6 per cent.

Overall, male MPs performed better than their female counterparts with an average score of 55.4 per cent against 47.7 per cent.

“What the poll tells us when compared with the 2015 one is that MPs who perform well end up being reelected while those with dismal performance lose elections,” said Infotrak Chief Executive Officer Angela Ambitho.

According to the popularity index of MPs released on Sunday, Khwisero MP Christopher Wanganya is the third best MP at 70 per cent followed by Patrick Musumba of Kibwezi West who polled 69.8 per cent.

Sigor MP Peter Lokachapong is the fourth best MP at 68.5 per cent followed by Pokot South MP David Pkosing with 68.2 per cent while Robert Mbui of Kathiani is next with 67.6 per cent.

Former National Assembly majority Whip Benjamin Washiali is ranked position nine with 67.3 per cent while Mbooni’s Erastus Nzioka wraps the top ten MPs list with 67.2 per cent.

National Assembly’s public Accounts and Committee chairman Opiyo Wandayi has 66.6 per cent at position 11 with vocal Kimilili MP Didmus Barasa coming at position 12 with 66.5 per cent.

Among the bottom ten of the 290 MPs, Kangema’s Clement Kigano scored 36.3 per cent at position 289 followed by Molo’s Francis Kimani at 37 per cent and Bura MP Ali Wario who polled 37.6 per cent.

Other lowly performing MPs were Wajir South Mohamed Sheikh (38.1 per cent) , Lari’s Jonah Mburu(38.2 per cent), Mwingi North’s Paul Nzengu (39.3 per cent), Subukia’s Samwel Kinuthia (39.6 per cent) and Ndigwa’s Martin Owin at 40 per cent.

James Mugambi of Othaya polled 40.8 per cent while Joshua Kuttuny of Cherangany completed the bottom ten MPs with 40.9 per cent.

In the regional ranking category, Kabete MP James Kamu is the best in Central region with 66.5 per cent followed by Mathira’s Rigathi Gachagua at 61.6 per cent followed by Kikuyu’s Kimani Ichungwa with 60 per cent.

At the Coast region, Benjamin Tayari of Kinangop topped with 62.9 while Khatib Mwashetani tied with the late Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori at 61.7 per cent.

The survey is a midterm performance raking that is likely to challenge lawmakers seeking reelection in the 2022 elections.

error: Content is protected !!