Peter Tabich featured in CBC taskforce as Wilson Sossion left out

Peter Tabich featured in CBC taskforce as Wilson Sossion left out

Nobel Peace Prize winner and teacher, Brother Peter Tabich is among the task force on education reforms gazetted following its appointment by President William Ruto.

President Ruto appointed 49 men and women to spearhead reforms in the education sector.

Peter Tabichi, David Some, Halima Saado, Jacinta Ngure, Peter Njenga, Jerono Rotich, Ciriaka Gitonga, Purity Mbaabu and Edward Katue, Jane Imbunya, Bernard Kariuki, Peter Njenga are also among the members.

Others are Virginia Wahome, Robert Juma, Charles Kyalo, Anthony Cheruiyot, Bishop Geoffrey Waweru, Seline Chepngeno, Laila Abubakar, Daniel Otieno, John Kamiti, Margaret Chege, James Kanya, Salome Eyangan, Wiston Akala, Jane Kimiti, Kizito Wangalwa, Augusta Mwihaki, Peter Barasa, Ahmed Yusuf, Jone Mose, Hassan Mwakimako, Lynette Mwende, Wilson Kogo, Stephen Mumbua, Paul Lilan, Richard Githinji and Collins Odote.

However in a surprise former Knut secretary general, Mr Wilson Sossion, did not feature in the 49 team which seeks to address issues bedeviling the new curriculum.

Sossion has been in the fore front opposing the curriculum since his tenure at Knut. He has in many occasions termed CBC a fraudulent curriculum.

Many teachers were betting for his appointment as Education CS but this did not happen as Ezekiel Machogu was appointed.

“CBC, the way it was introduced in this country, was to destroy the existence of public schools because they will never implement it. We did not prepare and it was just imposed,” Mr. Sossion said.

“The public schools will die and it will open a window for privatisation. Whoever imposed it on this country was very deliberate to kill public schools,” he addded.

According to the gazette notice, the the task force which will be chaired by Raphael Munavu will among other things evaluate the Competency Based Curriculum (CBC).

Munuva was President Ruto’s principal at Chiromo campus. According to a gazette notice dated September 29, the team will have 7 secretaries and 42 members.

“It will assess and recommend an appropriate structure to implement the CBC system as well as study all laws governing the basic education subsector,” the gazette notice stated.

The gazette notice further stated that the taskforce will study, assess and make recommendations on conceptualization and implementation of key tenets guiding the competency based approach.

“This includes including but not limited to value based education, community service
learning, parental empowerment and engagement, the assessment and examination framework and the quality assurance and standards framework.”

It will also make recommendations for streamlining continuity in Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) and university education transition.

It is further set to review and recommend legislation to facilitate amalgamation of HELB, TVET and University Funding Boards with a view of harmonizing and merging all tertiary education funding entities.

The team consists of Vice-chancellors, Gitahi Kiama, Paul Wainaina, and former private school heads Mutheu Kasanga among others.

“The secretaries are KNEC CEO David Njengere, Elyas Abdi, Eunice Gachoka, Jackson Too, Richard Miano,  Reuben Nthamburi, and Patita Tingoi,” the notice reads.

error: Content is protected !!