Health workers in 12 counties to strike tomorrow over salary delays

Health workers in 12 counties to strike tomorrow over salary delays

Health workers in 12 counties have announced that they will not report to work from Wednesday, April 19, 2023, following salary delays.

In a joint statement, the workers from Kisumu, Mombasa, Nyamira, Kisii, Murang’a, Nyeri, Laikipia, Bomet, Nyandarua, Embu, Vihiga and Taita Taveta will not report to work from Wednesday.

However Nyeri, Embu and Laikipia county officials have issued a statement saying they will pay the March salaries for the health workers by today midnight.

The health workers affiliated to the Kenya Medical Practitioners, Pharmacists and Dentists’ Union (KMPDU), Kenya National Union of Nurses (KNUN) and ¬†Kenya Union of Clinical Officers(KUCO) say they have not received their March salaries.

Also affected include members of the Kenya National Union of Pharmaceutical Technologists, Kenya Health Professional Society and Kenya Union of Nutritionists and Dieticians.

“As a result, they are unable to meet their daily needs, including transportation, food, and accommodation expenses. We wish to emphasize that this is not a strike notice, but rather a demonstration of the inability of our members to attend work due to lack of resources,” said the union heads.

“We cannot continue to work under such conditions, as it has become increasingly difficult for our members to meet their basic needs.”

The health workers, who insist that they are not engaging in industrial action, have urged counties to honour their dues to avoid disruption of services.

“We remain open to further discussions with you and hope for a speedy resolution to this matter,” they said.

A total of sixty two national and branch union officials met today and in unison agreed that they will down their tools tomorrow.

error: Content is protected !!