Calls to replace TSC chair and 7 commissioners

Calls to replace TSC chair and 7 commissioners

Kenya National Union of Teachers (Knut) is pushing for recruitment of a chairperson and seven commissioners of the Teachers Service Commission.

Teachers Service Commission chairperson Lydia Nzomo’s six-year term ended in November 18 last year.

Nzomo was the first person to chair the TSC after it was made a constitutional commission. She took oath of office in 2014.

The commission is also missing another member of the board of governance, Cleophas Tirop, who vacated office in March 2019, while the remaining six will be due to exit in March this year.

Calls to replace TSC chair and 7 commissioners
Part of the letter Knut SG wrote

In total, the commission has nine members. With one representing each region of the defunct provinces.

In a letter, Wilson Sossion, the KNUT secretary-general called for speedy preparation to kick start the process of replacing the officials.

The letter read as follows;


You are aware that the Chairperson TSC vacated office in the month of November 2020 upon the expiry of a 6 year term.  

Mr. Cleophas Tirop vacated office in March 2019 and has not been replaced to date hence Rift Valley lacks representation at the Commission.

Six (6) other Commissioners shall vacate office with effect from  March 2021 leaving the Commission without a Substantive Chair and only two Commissioners who constitutionally shall  be unable to make decisions and run the Commission.

This Communication is therefore to URGE you to expedite in constituting an Independent and Credible Panel to undertake the 4 process of appointing a TSC Chair and seven Commissioners to avoid a crisis and breakdown of services at the TSC which is the largest employer and Independent Constitutional Commission  in this  country  requiring hands-on management by experienced Commissioners.

It is dated February 16 and copied to Cabinet Secretaries Margret Kobia, George Magoha and six others.

The commission was fully constituted in March 2015 following the recruitment and appointment of the chairperson and commissioners, a process that began in October 2012. 

This resulted in staggered terms of office holders; the tenure of the first three commissioners ended in 2019. Other five members will have their terms end in March 2021.

error: Content is protected !!